Mathilde Schechter Residence Hall Groundbreaking & Dedication

In 1971, the Mathilde Schechter Residence Hall Trust was established between the Jewish Theological Seminary and the National Women’s League of the United Synagogue for the purpose of constructing a residence hall for women students.  The groundbreaking occurred in 1974.  The dedication took place on May 23, 1976.

Syd Rossman, Torah Fund/Residence Hall  Patron’s Society Chair, Chancellor Louis Finkelstein,  and Selma Rappaport, Women’s League President, symbolically break ground for the residence hall.